Sign In Forgot Password

purim spiel 2024

click here to purchase tickets. 

B’nai Israel is proud to announce this year’s Purim Spiel theme and get out important information about participating in this annual highlight of our congregation. The Spiel will continue to be a unique and complete musical theater experience for B’nai Israel’s youth, with participants having the opportunity to act, sing, dance, work as a team, and appreciate the Purim story in a new way. Participants develop close friendships and make positive life-long memories at the synagogue through theater. As always, the custom and original script with songs and scenes written and directed by Naomi Gerstenblith with Curtain Up Creative, LLC, will be a Purim joy.

Purim Spiel 

B’nai Israel is proud to announce this year’s Purim Spiel theme and get out important information about participating in this exciting opportunity. Once again we are fortunate enough to be led by the talented Naomi Gerstenblith of Curtain Up Creative, LLC. We look forward to another incredible musical theater opportunity for our community!

THEME

The Purim Spiel will be “The Little Mermaid of Shushan” and will be a Purim-spin on the classic tale. The music and story are recognizable, upbeat and fun and the show has great comedic characters.

PERFORMANCES

The Spiel will be performed twice this year, in the evenings of Wednesday, March 20, and Thursday, March 21. The Purim Carnival and Youth Megillah Reading and Services will be held on Purim, March 24 (which falls during MCPS Spring Break) so there will be no conflict with Spiel participation.  

PARTICIPATION IN THE SPIEL

The Purim Spiel remains an annual highlight of our congregation, and it will continue to be a unique and complete musical theater experience for B’nai Israel’s youth. 

Spiel participants will learn acting, singing, dancing, teamwork and also appreciate the Purim story in a new way. They will develop close friendships and make positive life-long memories at the synagogue through theater. Participants will work with a professional choreographer and the production has professional sound equipment and costumes. As always, the custom and original script with songs and scenes written and directed by Naomi Gerstenblith with Curtain Up Creative, LLC, will be a Purim joy. 

Auditions will be held the week of January 7. Rehearsals will follow twice a week until the performance week. The complete rehearsal schedule will be released shortly and will consist of Sunday afternoons and Tuesday evenings from January through Purim. 

Participation in the Purim Spiel will be $50 per child.

Eligibility to participate in this year’s Spiel is for children in Kindergarten through 8th grade. B'nai Israel membership or enrollment in our Lessans Talmud Torah is required to participate. 


rehearsal schedule (tentative)

Note: Most cast members will not be called for every rehearsal, however, the show is a large commitment and cast members should ensure their availability. 

Sunday, January 14, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday, January 16, 6:45 - 8:00 PM
Sunday January 21, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday January 23, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday January 28, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday January 30, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday, February 4, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday February 6, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday February 11, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday February 13, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday February 18, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday February 20, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday February 25, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday February 27, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday March 3, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday March 5, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday March 10, 12:30-2:30 PM
Tuesday, March 12, 6:45-8:00 PM
Sunday March 17, 4:30-6:30 PM (dress rehearsal #1)
Monday March 18, 5:30 - 7:30 PM (TECH rehearsal)
Tuesday, March 19, 5:30 - 7:30 PM (dress rehearsal #2 with tech)
Wednesday March 20, SHOW time TBD (may add rehearsal before the show)
Thursday March 21, SHOW time TBD

Please feel free to email Naomi Gerstenblith with questions. 

We cannot wait to share "The Little Mermaid of Shushan" with you in March! 

***Online registration for the Purim Spiel is currently full! To inquire about additional space availability and a waitlist, please contact Naomi Gerstenblith.*** 

 

Wed, February 28 2024 19 Adar I 5784